Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Basketball - 21. May 2013.

CAN - Thomaidis and Co gear up for busy summer

TORONTO (FIBA Americas Championship for Women) - Natalie Achonwa and Kayla Alexander were two of the finest players in American women's college basketball in 2012-13.

The two were among those invited to try out for the Canada senior women's team over the weekend at McMaster University's David Braley Athletic Centre.

Achonwa, who played in a third straight NCAA Women's Final in April, has featured for the national side at the 2010 FIBA World Championship and last summer's Olympics.

Alexander is embarking on a professional career with the San Antonio Silver Stars after a hugely successful four years at Syracuse University, where she became the all-time leading scorer in the women's program.

Achonwa would appear to be a lock for the Canada team that is going to compete at the FIBA Americas Championship in Mexico, a qualifying event for the 2014 FIBA World Championship in Turkey, while Alexander could be an uncertainty due to her WNBA commitments.

Several of the 29 invitees to the training camp were members of the side that reached the Quarter-Finals of the Olympics, including star Kim Smith, the explosive scorer in the team.

Other Olympians include Courtnay Pilypaitis, Lizanne Murphy, Krista Phillips, Michelle Plouffe, Alisha Tatham, Tamara Tatham and Shona Thorburn.

Canada, now coached by Lisa Thomaidis, are going to have a very busy summer getting ready for the FIBA Americas Championship.

They are to travel to Prague to square off against the Czech Republic (28-29 May), and they will also play in friendly tournaments in Serbia (31 May-2 June), France (7-9 June), China (5-12 July) and Brazil (15-18 August).

Canada women's squad: Natalie Achonwa, Kayla Alexander, Miranda Ayim, Janelle Bekkering, Krysten Boogaard, Justine Colley, Nirra Fields, Ruth Hamblin, Kalisha Keane, Miah-Marie Langlois, Lizanne Murphy, Kia Nurse, Krista Phillips, Courtnay Pilypaitis, Katherine Plough, Michelle Plouffe, Emily Potter, Nayo Raincock-Ekunwe, Karly Roser, Kendell Ross, Stephany Skrba, Kim Smith, Alisha Tatham, Tamara Tatham, Shona Thorburn, Jamie Weisner, Taryn Wicijowski, Korissa Williams and Emma Wolfram.

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Sharni Layton retires from all forms of netball
Please follow us