Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Athletics - 31. May 2007.

Australian Women's Relay squad latest editions in Osaka

The women’s 4x100m relay squad are the latest additions to the Australian team for the 11th IAAF World Championships to be held from August 25 – September 2 in Osaka, Japan.

After producing a surprise world championships qualifier earlier in the month - with the fastest time by an Australian team (43.62 seconds) since 2000 - our women’s 4 x 100m relay squad have put their hand up for selection. Three-time Australian sprint champion Sally McLellan (QLD) will be joined by fellow Commonwealth Games relay bronze medallists Crystal Attenborough (NT) and Melanie Kleeberg (QLD).

The relay squad also includes hurdles specialist Fiona Cullen (QLD), 23 year-old Preya Carey (NSW), who ran the lead leg for the fifth-placed Oceania relay team in the Athens World Cup last year, 26 year-old Amy Harris (QLD) who represented Australia in the relay heats at the 2003 World Championships, West Australian national Under 23 champion Jody Henry, 21, and Tasmanian primary school teacher Melissa Kay, 29, who set a new state record of 11.61 seconds in January.

The women’s 4 x 100 relay squads will be reduced to six members following a relay camp from June 18 - 24.

There are no marathon selections for either the individual event or IAAF World Marathon Cup.

Final additions to the team for in-stadium events can be made up to August 13, 2007.






100m Sally McLellan (QLD)

1500m Lisa Corrigan (ACT), Sarah Jamieson (VIC)

5000m Eloise Wellings (NSW)

10000m Benita Johnson (VIC)

100m H Sally McLellan (QLD)

400m H Jana Rawlinson (NSW)

3000m Steeplechase Donna MacFarlane (TAS), Victoria Mitchell (VIC)

Pole Vault Alana Boyd (QLD), Kym Howe (WA)

Long Jump Bronwyn Thompson (QLD)

Discus Dani Samuels (NSW)

Heptathlon Kylie Wheeler (WA)

20km Walk Jane Saville (NSW)

4 x 100m Relay Squad* Sally McLellan (QLD), Crystal Attenborough (NT), Melanie Kleeberg (QLD), Fiona Cullen (QLD), Preya Carey (NSW), Amy Harris (QLD), Jody Henry (WA), Melissa Kay (TAS)

* Final team (maximum of six athletes per relay) to be confirmed prior to close of IAAF entries in August.

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Eni Aluko-The Game Changers

Fearless Women in Sport

PSA Announce Rankings to Be Frozen During Tour Suspension
Please follow us