Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Waterpolo - 12. August 2007.

Australia are the new Junior Womens World Champions

Porto (POR), July 29, 2007 – In the final, the Australians beat the biggest surprise of the championships, China, by 8-6, getting its second world title after the victory in 1999, a second place in 1995, 1997 and 2001, and a bronze medal in 2005. In the seven editions of the championships, its worst result was a sixth place in 2003.

The Asian team, only 14th two years ago, reached the first final ever in a FINA water polo tournament.

For the bronze medal, the USA, world champions in 2005, couldn’t be on the podium, losing with Hungary by 10-8. The USA were only absent from the ‘medal zone’ in 1999, while Hungary got also a bronze in that year.

The best scorers of the competition were, with 27 goals, the Japanese Konaka Misa and the Australian Gemma Beadsworth. Jun Yang from China was voted the best goalkeeper of the championships.


> results, reports & classifications

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Start with Gunn Rita Dahle on the Trophy-Extreme Course

Foto: Armin Küstenbrück

Steph Kyriacou takes the Pro Plunge


Please follow us