Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Bowls - 24. November 2011.

Aussie set to bowl over the Asia Pacific

Adelaide about to play host to 140 of the world's best bowlers

Adelaide is set to host the Asia Pacific Bowls Championships from 30th
November - 11 December and with a star studded team with an average age
younger than that of the Australian Cricket Team the host country will be
hard to beat.

The event will feature 15 men's teams and 13 women's teams from all manner
of Asia Pacific nations - from Japan to Samoa to the USA and Canada!  (Macau
has only submitted a men's team and the Chinese Women's team is a late
cancellation due to immigration not granting their Visas)

Australia's all-star line up for the event includes Commonwealth games
medallists and world #2 Bret Wilkie, #4 Karen Murphy and Kelsey Cottrell (#8
in the world) and the 2010 World Champion of Champion Aron Sherriff (ranked
#5 in the world).

After dominating the last Asia Pacific Championships held in 2009 in Kuala
Lumpur with a medal haul that included two gold, two silver and three bronze
from eight events, the Australians will be eager to once again perform well
on the international stage - especially on home turf.

The 2011 Asia Pacific Championships will be played at Lockleys Bowling Club
and Holdfast Bay Bowls & Croquet Club in Adelaide from Wednesday, November
30 and will run through to Sunday, December 11.

This event is a precursor to Adelaide hosting the World Bowls Championships
in 2012.

Participating Countries

Men's Teams:

Australia, Brunei, Canada, China, Fiji, Hong Kong China, Japan, Macau,
Malaysia, New Zealand, Norfolk Island, Philippines, Samoa, Singapore and
United States of America.

Women's Teams:

Australia, Brunei, Canada, Fiji, Hong Kong China, Japan, Malaysia, New
Zealand, Norfolk Island, Philippines, Samoa, Singapore and United States of

Australia Team Profile


Kelsey Cottrell - Singles and triples (skip) - St Johns Park Bowling Club

.        2010 Commonwealth Games - Bronze medal - Singles

.        2010 Eight Nation Test Event - Silver medal - Singles

Natasha Van Eldik - Pairs (lead) and fours (lead) - Raymond Terrace Bowling

.        2010 Trans Tasman representative

.        2010 Delhi Eight Nation Test Event - Silver medallist

Karen Murphy - Pairs and fours (skip) - Cabramatta Bowling Club

.        2009 Asia Pacific Championships - Bronze medal- Pairs

.        2007 Asia Pacific Championships - Gold medal - Pairs

Rebecca Quail - Triples and fours (second) - Invermay Bowls Club

* 2010 Australian Open - Pairs finalist
* 2009 QLD Open singles - Singles champion

Lynsey Armitage - Triples (skip) and fours (third) - Club Helensvale

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Sharni Layton retires from all forms of netball
Please follow us