Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Ice Hockey - 09. March 2010.

2010 U.S. Womens National Under-18 Team Announced

Two-Time Defending World Champion Team USA to Play
at IIHF World Women's U18 Championship Beginning March 27


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - USA Hockey today announced the 20-player roster for the 2010 U.S. Women's National Under-18 Team that will compete in the 2010 International Ice Hockey Federation World Women's Under-18 Championship, to be held for the first time on U.S. soil from March 27-April 3 in the Chicago suburb of Woodridge, Ill.

The U.S. Women's National Under-18 Team is the two-time defending world champion, after capturing gold in Füssen, Germany, in 2009, and in Calgary, Alta., in 2008.

Highlighting the roster are two members from both the 2008 and 2009 U.S. Women's National Under-18 Teams -- forward Kendall Coyne (Palos Heights, Ill.) and defenseman Meagan Mangene (Manorville, N.Y.).

Other returnees to the squad include five members from the 2009 U.S. Women's National Under-18 Team, including forwards Brittany Ammerman (River Vale, N.J.), Lyndsey Fry (Chandler, Ariz.), Amanda Pelkey (Montpelier, Vt.) and Taylor Wasylk (Port Huron, Mich.), and netminder Alex Rigsby (Delafield, Wis.), who was named best goaltender of the tournament.

In addition, all but three members of the 2010 squad were members of the 2009 U.S. Women's Under-18 Select Team that played a three-game series against Canada in August 2009.

Team USA plays Japan in its first preliminary-round game on March 27.

For Team USA's full roster, click here ... Meghan Lorence (Mounds View, Minn.), Aubree Moore (Bowie, Md.) and Jordan Slavin (Erie, Colo.) are the only members of Team USA who were not part of the 2009 U.S. Women's Under-18 Select Team ... In 2009, Alex Rigsby became the first-ever woman to be chosen in the United States Hockey League's Entry Draft, when the Chicago Steel selected her with the team's 16th round pick ... Kendall Coyne scored the gold medal-winning goal in overtime against Canada at the 2009 IIHF World Women's Under-18 Championship ... The eight-nation tournament, being played for the third time, includes Canada, Czech Republic, Finland, Germany, Japan, Russia, Sweden and the United States ... Katie King, three-time Olympian and head women's hockey coach at Boston College, will serve as Team USA's head coach, with Shelley Looney, two-time Olympian and girls'/women's hockey director for the New Jersey Colonials, and Catherine Hanson, former U.S. Women's National Team member and assistant women's hockey coach at The Ohio State University, serving as assistant coaches ... For more information on the 2010 IIHF World Women's Under-18 Championship, click here.

Team USA 2010 IIHF World Women's Under-18 Championship Schedule
March 27-April 3 • Woodridge, Ill.




Time (CDT/EDT)

Sat., March 27


Walter Bush Arena

7:30 p.m./8:30 p.m.

Sun., March 28


Walter Bush Arena

7:30 p.m./8:30 p.m.

Tues., March 30

Czech Republic

Walter Bush Arena

7:30 p.m./8:30 p.m.

Wed., March 31


Walter Bush Arena


Fri., April 2


Walter Bush Arena


Sat., April 3

Bronze-Medal Game

Walter Bush Arena

3 p.m./4 p.m.


Gold-Medal Game

Walter Bush Arena

7 p.m./8 p.m.



Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
17-strong Diamonds squad announced for International Test Series
Beaugrand powers to first WTS gold thanks to inspired run in Hamburg

photos Janos Schmidt 

Please follow us