Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Paralympic sports - 09. April 2010.

2010 IPC Swimming World Championships Team announced

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – U.S. Paralympics has announced the athletes that will compete in the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Swimming World Championships in Eindhoven, Netherlands, August 15 – 21, 2010. 


The Can-Am National Championships held in San Antonio, Texas, March 25 – 27, served as the world championships qualification meet.  In San Antonio, U.S athletes broke 19 World, Pan-American and American records.


Twenty-five of the athletes that will compete at the world championships, also represented the U.S. at the 2008 Paralympic Games in Beijing.


Helping to lead the women’s team will be 14-time Paralympic gold medalist Erin Popovich (Silverbow, Mont.), as well as veteran standout Jessica Long (Baltimore, Md.) and rising star Mallory Weggemann (Eagan, Minn.).  At the previous world championships in 2006, Long won an astonishing nine gold medals in nine events.  Weggemann made her international swimming debut at IPC Short Course Swimming World Championships last December, where she collected five gold medals and three world records.


On the men’s side, more than half of the 11 athletes that will be swimming in EindhovenBeijing.  These athletes include Justin Zook (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.), Lantz Lamback (Augusta, Ga.), Jarrett Perry (Wichita, Kan.), Rudy Garcia-Tolson (Riverside, Calif.), Roy Perkins (Del Mar, Calif.) and Cody Bureau (Latrobe, Pa.). claimed Paralympic medals




Cheryl Angelelli (Clinton Township, Mich.)                 

Kelley Becherer (Sheboygan, Wis.)                            

Anna Eames (Valley, Minn.)                

Amanda Everlove (Wichita, Kan.)                  

Deb Gruen (Hamden, Conn.)                           

Casey Johnson (Cypress, Calif.)                                 

Cortney Jordan (Henderson, Nev.)                 

Beth Kolbe (Tiffin, Ohio)                                 

Jessica Long (Baltimore, Md.)                                      

Ashley Owens (Stockbridge, Ga.)                     

Erin Popovich (Silverbow, Mont.)                              

Susan Beth Scott (Cape Girardeau, Mo.)                       

Elizabeth Stone (Grand Rapids, Mich.)                       

Miranda Uhl (Alachua, Fla.)                           

Mallory Weggemann (Eagan, Minn.)                          

Kayla Wheeler (Seattle, Wash.)                                    



Cody Bureau (Latrobe, Pa.)                        

Michael DeMarco (San Diego, Calif.)                         

Tucker Dupree (Raleigh, N.C.)            

Rudy Garcia-Tolson (Riverside, Calif.)                                  

Lantz Lamback (Augusta, Ga.)                                     

Curtis Lovejoy (Atlanta, Ga.)              

Roy Perkins (Del Mar, Calif.)                           

Jarrett Perry (Wichita, Kan.)                           

Philip Scholz (Mt. Sinai, N.Y.)                                      

Joe Wise (Menlo Park, Calif.)             

Justin Zook (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.)

Photo courtesy Joe Kusumoto


Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
England battle back to draw Vitality Hockey Women's World Cup opener with India
Please follow us