Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Beach Volleyball - 16. May 2013.

Teams confirmed for FIVB World Cup Final

The teams representing the 16 countries filling the 10 spots per gender at the inaugural FIVB Beach Volleyball World Cup Final in Campinas, Brazil from May 29 to June 2 have been confirmed.

What started in 2010 as part of the Olympic Beach Volleyball qualification system, will culminate in Brazil with the inaugural $300,000 FIVB World Cup Final, organised by the Brazilian Volleyball Federation to determine the Continental Cup winner. The landmark double-gender event will be staged in a purpose-built complex in Campinas at the Parque Do Taquaral Portão 7, Avenida Dr. Heitor Penteado. Campinas is located in the State of São Paulo in Brazil.

The FIVB Beach Volleyball World Cup Final will determine the champion country from the Continental Cup, with Olympic value in the way of the Olympic participants also included. Prize money of $150,000 per gender will be divided among the winners of the FIVB Beach Volleyball World Cup Final. The gold medal teams in each gender will each split $50,000, silver medallists will each receive $35,000 and the bronze medallists in each gender will split $22,500 in prize money.

While the Continental Cup featured two teams per country as part of the official qualifying process for beach volleyball at the London 2012 Olympic Games, the World Cup Final will include only one team in a unique one-off for television purposes.

With seeding based on the best players from the respective countries as per the FIVB World Tour Ranking as of August 20, 2012.

For the women, the top-seeded team is Brazil’s Maria Antonelli/Talita da Roche Antunes, who finished ninth while are American silver medallists April Ross/Jennifer Kessy are No. 2.

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Sharni Layton retires from all forms of netball
Please follow us