Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Cricket - 14. May 2013.

Cricket Australia and ECB announce new format Women’s Ashes Series

Cricket Australia (CA) and the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) today announced that, starting in England in August 2013, the Women’s Ashes will be contested through a new multi-format series.


The multi-format Women’s Ashes Series will encompass one Test match, three One Day Internationals (ODIs) and three Twenty20 International (T20Is) matches. The winners of the Test will be awarded six points, with two points awarded to the winners of each of the limited overs matches (see table below). The team that accrues the most points across all three formats will win the Women’s Ashes Series.


Cricket Australia Senior Manager – Centre of Excellence Belinda Clark said: “Cricket contests between Australia and England have a special place in the hearts and minds of players and the public. The new Women’s Ashes Series format acknowledges the past, embraces the present and takes a bold step towards the future. The recent ICC Women’s World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka and the ICC Women’s World Cup in India demonstrated that the standard of women’s cricket across all competing countries is more evenly balanced than ever before, which, in part, is due to the increased focus on the shorter forms of the game. The Women’s Ashes Series in England in 2013 and the return series in Australia in 2014 will pit two highly competitive teams against each other and I for one can’t wait for the first ball to be bowled.”


Head of England Women’s Cricket Clare Connor said: “The women’s game has seen huge growth in interest and profile as a result of the limited overs formats in recent years. The new Women’s Ashes Series looks to combine this reality with the prestige and tradition of Test match cricket. We believe that this new multi-format series will gain significantly more profile and context than can be generated by playing a one-off Test match every couple of years. Re-branding the Women’s Ashes to a multi-format series is an innovative way forward for players, spectators and the media and we look forward to a hard-fought contest spanning three weeks in August.”


The Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars are the current Ashes holders, having reclaimed them in Sydney in 2011. Of the 18 women’s Ashes series that have been played since its inception in 1934-35, Australia have won seven, England have won four and seven series have been drawn.


Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Serena denied as Kerber completes quest
Serena faces Angelique in Wimbledon Singles final
Please follow us